Fanfiction · Lord of the Rings Fanfiction · Uncategorized

First and Last Chapter Six

I haven’t updated in a MONTH? Seriously? What is my issue?? Well, it’s Sam’s turn now, so onwards we go.

~~~

Chapter Six

Sam

It’s a long way to the Shire, but somehow, this journey seems faster than the last one. Only, that time we were walking away from the Shire and into danger, and this time we’re riding towards it, in peace.

Lady Galadriel and Lord Elrond are journeying with us until we reach Lorien and Rivendell. They have white elvish horses and a grey tent, which makes Frodo, Merry, Pippin, and I look rather silly, considering that we ride ponies and sleep in the back of the wagon. But we like it that way, so it’s alright.

The only thing not alright about all this is Frodo. He smiles, and acts the same as ever, but I can just tell there’s something he’s keeping from me. This is odd, because we never have any secrets – but I don’t ask. If he wants to tell me, I know he will.

 

I glare down at Merry, Pippin, and Frodo, sitting in the back of the wagon smiling innocently at me. “Alright, confess. Which one of you stole my blanket?”

“I didn’t!” Merry says.

“Me neither!” Pippin insists.

I look at Frodo, who giggles. I hold out a hand. “Give it back.”

“I didn’t take it, honest.”

“I don’t believe you.”

“I really didn’t take it.”

“Give it back or you lose breakfast privileges for a week.”

Frodo looks shocked. “But, the last time I had to cook -”

“You got food poisoning,” I finish. “I know.”

“Why can’t we all just share?” Pippin asks. “I mean, we share the blankets every other night, why not tonight?”

“Because I think you’ve done something bad to it.” I glare at Frodo. “Where is it, and what did you do to it?”

“I didn’t take it, honestly.”

“Tell me or…” I think. “No hugs until we get back to the Shire. For any of you. And no kisses, either. AND no breakfast.”

Merry and Pippin gasp.

“But, Sam! You can’t do that!”

“Watch me.”

Frodo gets up slowly. “Sam… you have to understand… It was an accident.”

“You accidentally stole a blanket? What did you do, use it to wash the dishes?”

“N-no… I was getting the wagon set up for bed and I walked past my pony and… and…” He buries his face in his hands. “The pony ate the blanket,” he whispers. “He just grabbed it with his teeth -”

“You fed my blanket to a horse?!?”

“I’m really sorry!”

“That’s it. No hugs and kisses for you.” I go and snatch an extra blanket from the wagon. “I will be sleeping on the ground tonight.” I turn away to hide my smile. I don’t care about the blanket, but teasing Frodo is so fun – especially because he thinks I’m serious.

“But – don’t you want to sleep in the wagon with us?” Merry pleads.

“You’ll be cold on the hard ground!” Pippin says.

I glance over my shoulder. “I would rather be cold than next to people who were so cruel. That was my last blanket from the Shire.”

“I’ll buy you a new one!” Frodo begs, grabbing my arm. “A better one!”

“No dear, I’m afraid you don’t understand,” I say, nudging his hand off my arm. “I had to save up for days to buy that blanket. It was the profit of hard labor.”

“I’m sorry!!! Please don’t punish me!”

“For this there can be no forgiveness.”

Frodo actually looks like he might cry. He goes and sits down in the wagon with Merry and Pippin, and they hug him tight.

“Sam, look, you made him cry,” says Merry. “Is that any way to treat your best friend?”

“My best friend betrayed me.”

Frodo sobs and buries his face in Merry’s shoulder. Merry hugs him for a while, glaring at me, while Pippin pats Frodo’s back.

“There, there,” he says. “It’s okay. We love you even if Sam doesn’t.”

“I never said I didn’t love him!”

“Go to sleep, Frodo,” Merry soothes, lying Frodo down in the wagon and tucking him in. They curl up in their own blankets. “Maybe Sam will play nice in the morning.”

I sigh, go to the wagon, and sit down next to Frodo. He looks up at me.

“Silly, I don’t care about the blanket,” I say.

He punches me, laughing. “You are so mean!” He snuggles close to me, and I wrap my arms around him. “Mmm, you’re warm.” He sighs, then glances up. “I hate you, you know that?”

“I know,” I say. “Go to sleep.”

“Why did you do that?” asks Pippin, glaring at me.

“Because it was funny.”

“Not really,” says Merry drily. He looks up at the sky. “We’ll be back in the Shire in two months, did you know that?”

“I can’t wait,” Frodo mumbles sleepily. “Night, everyone. Love you.”

“Love you, too.” I kiss the top of his head.

Two months, and we’ll be home.

3 thoughts on “First and Last Chapter Six

  1. Hello my name is Alisa and I just wanted to send you a quick message here instead of calling you. I discovered your First and Last Chapter Six | Middle Hyrule website and noticed you could have a lot more hits. I have found that the key to running a popular website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get keyword targeted visitors from and they let you try their service for free for 7 days. I managed to get over 300 targeted visitors to day to my website. http://lis.ovh/b1 – Unsubscribe here: http://brt.st/5lpX

    Like

Leave a Reply

