Fan art

Crocheted Hobbit Hole!

At one of my homeschool co’ops, girls my age have a crochet class. I’m the only one in the class who already knows how to crochet. This week’s assignment was to make a chain and ball it up, but since I can do that already, I asked the teacher if I could make a prize for whoever has the longest chain. The prize I was to make? A hobbit hole.

In twelve days, I managed to whip the hole together with no tutorials, no pattern, no help, no nothing except several skeins of yarn, a needle, a pair of scissors,  and a size five crichet hook. I’ve never even seen a crochet hobbit hold before, but I got it done and it looks great. I set it on a rug (an awful ugly rug, but it was the only well-lighted space I could find that didn’t have people or objects everywhere) and took a plethora of pictures.

The hole is modeled after Bag End, the inhabitants being Sam, Rosie, and Elanor. The dolls were tough to make, especially because I was doing it on such a small scale, but I made them work out in the (Bag) end.

Here are the pictures:

image

image

(The green and orange things are pumpkins and cabbages, by the way.)

image

Bag End’s infamous green door…

image

image

image

This tree was a brilliant idea, in my humble opinion. I like that you can see the roots on the ceiling – it is a hill after all.

image

image

I like the way Rosie’s hair turned out, and I went with a pretty blue dress like the one she dances in at the party.

image

Baby Elanor and my poorly manicured hand.

image

Samwise the Brave. His hair is from the same skein as the pumpkins. His breeches took FOREVER to get right.

image

image

image

image

Aren’t they so cute?

I’m very happy with the way it turned out. Just now I realized that Rosie sort of looks pregnant, which is I guess appropriate, as Baby Frodo was born right after Baby Elanor. I think whoever gets the hole will be very happy…..

7 thoughts on “Crocheted Hobbit Hole!

Leave a Reply

